The Explorer medal is awarded for hacking distinct portals. Only your very first hack on any one portal counts towards this medal, unlike the Hacker medal, which counts every hack regardless of whether you’ve hacked the portal before.

Tier Distinct
Bronze 100
Silver 1,000
Gold 2,000
Platinum 10,000
Onyx 30,000


The Explorer medal was one of the eight original ones available when the medal system was introduced on 12 September 2013.