The Pioneer medal is awarded for capturing distinct portals. Only your very first capture of any one portal counts towards this medal, unlike Liberator, which counts every capture regardless of whether you’ve captured that same portal before.

The “Captured” layer can help you find portals you haven’t capture yet for this medal.

Tier Unique
Bronze 20
Silver 200
Gold 1,000
Platinum 5,000
Onyx 20,000


The Pioneer medal became available on 10 January 2014.